horse racing info

SA Breeders Stakes

The SA Breeders Stakes is a Group 3 race for two-year-olds only that takes place annually each March at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and run under set weight conditions with prizemoney of $120,000. The 2018 SA Breeders Stakes was won by Tequila Time from Fundamentalist with Krone third.

SA Breeders Stakes info

Date: Saturday 27th April 2019
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $120,000
2018 Winner: Tequila Time

The SA Breeders Stakes is the first group race to be held for two-year-olds during the autumn racing carnival in Adelaide and is usually contested by handy local types rather than high quality youngsters. The set weight conditions of the race favours the better performed 2yo gallopers.

Any two-year-old racing in this event may consider going on to the Gr2 SA Sires Produce Stakes in April or the Gr3 National Stakes in May, which are both better quality races for two-year-olds and run under similar conditions. Tequila Time (2018) is the last galloper to claim the SA brreders Stakes and SA Sires Produce Stakes double. Both The Grey Flash (2nd in 2015) and Go Indy Go (2nd in 2014) went on to win the SA Sires Produce Stakes after finishing second in the SA Breeders Stakes beforehand.

Tequila Time (2018) took out a 2YO Handicap over 1100m at Morphettville on his way to an impressive victory in this event and recent SA Breeders Stakes winners include Broadband (2017) and Tris (2016).

2018 SA Breeders Stakes result

1. $4.40 Tequila Time 57.5 Clare Lindop
2. $3.70 Fundamentalist 55.5 Andrew Mallyon
3. $3.60 Krone 55.5 Damian Lane

then followed
4. $7.00 Farooq 57.5 John Allen
5. $8.00 Al Naifa 55.5 Jamie Kah
6. $20.00 Heart Conquered 57.5 Dwayne Dunn
7. $51.00 Havana Heat 55.5 Joe Bowditch
8. $61.00 Bold Star 57.5 Ms Anna Jordsjo
9. $101.00 Sir Garfield 57.5 Harry Coffey
10. $101.00 Gotta Be Gold 55.5 Raquel Clark
11. $101.00 Manzala 57.5 Todd Pannell
12. $101.00 Dual Lane 55.5 Ryan Hurdle

Margins: 0.4 len, 1.8 len
Time: 1:10.12

Bet now on the SA Breeders Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best SA Breeders Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

SA Breeders Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Tequila Time Fundamentalist Krone 1:10.1
2017 Broadband Time Awaits Artstrum 1:11.2
2016 Tris Ariaz Smart Manoeuvre 1:10.2
2015 Last Bullet The Grey Flash Battle Brewing 1:11.1
2014 London Lolly Go Indy Go Deiheros 1:10.6
2013 Excites Zelady Murtle Turtle Bring A Ring 1:11.7
2012 Big Chill Underestimation Monica Kate 1:11.0
2011 Rockshaft Redangelo Rescue Mission 1:10.8
2010 Shrapnel Yosei Spirited Princess 1:10.9
2009 Colour Mrs Kipling Miss With Attitude 1:10.3
2008 Augusta Proud Testy Shadrach 1:09.8
2007 Murjana Armanjena Miss Hijinx 1:10.7
2006 De Lago Mist Changing Eyes Danever 1:10.9
2005 Freestyle Yellowstone Strikes Back 1:10.1
2004 Deprivation Barely A Moment Marnie D'Or 1:10.1
2003 Syrinx Barabba Road Regrowth 1:10.8
2002 Great Glen Yell Presumed Innocent 1:14.5
2001 Pelt La Lagune Cosmic Strike 1:09.2
2000 Happy Morning Sarson Trail Surfboard 1:11.1
1999 Ruthless Tycoon Akhenaton Camargue 0:57.3
1998 Astralita Admired Aspaade 1:10.0
1997 Gold Guru Around The Ring Suit 1:11.2
1996 Zeya Excel Pilot Lake Villa 1:11.5
1995 Padre El Qahiras Son Dance Spirit 1:10.6
1994 Blevic Lead The Charge Blight 1:11.7
1993 Laubali Flurrys Autumn All Lit Up 1:11.7
1992 Credit Account Let Him Ride Mookta 1:12.4
1991 Jakpil Umatilla Tea Habit 1:10.8
1990 Berberia Alishan Black Opera 1:10.6
1989 Golden Prayer Gleam High Zaparri 1:11.6
1988 Sovereign Lady Queen Regent Record Dash 1:14.8