horse racing info

Manfred Stakes

The Manfred Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds run held in February each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and offers $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Manfred Stakes was won by Cliff's Edge from Overshare with Muraaqeb third.

Formerly a listed race, the Manfred Stakes was upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 season. Usually held at Caulfield, the race was held at Sandown for the 2014/2015 racing season alongside the Gr3 Blue Diamond Preview Fillies for two-year-olds.

Manfred Stakes info

Date: Saturday 2nd February 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Cliff's Edge

The Manfred Stakes is the first group race of the Melbourne autumn for three-year-old gallopers and provides a good hit out at group level for the better class races ahead during the upcoming autumn carnival. Some classy gallopers have won this race over the past few years including Mosheen (2012), Denman (2010), Nicconi (2009) and Haradasun (2007).

Capable three-year-olds engaged in this race might head on to the Gr2 Autumn Stakes at Caulfield on Gr1 CF Orr Stakes day, while fillies might look to the female only Gr3 Boronia Stakes on the same day, as they are raced under similar conditions. Denman (2010) was the last galloper to take out the Manfred Stakes & Autumn Stakes double. San Nicasio (4th in 2015) won the Autumn Stakes at his next start after running fourth in the Autumn Stakes.

Cliff's Edge (2018) resumed from a spring spell to win this event and recent Manfred Stakes winners include Legless Veuve (2017) and Puritan (2016).

2018 Manfred Stakes result

1. $7.00 Cliff's Edge 58.0 John Allen
2. $13.00 Overshare 58.0 Dwayne Dunn
3. $6.00 Muraaqeb 56.0 Mark Zahra

then followed
4. $5.00 I Did It Again 56.0 Damien Oliver
5. $11.00 Veranillo 58.0 Craig Williams
6. $9.00 Crystal Spirit 56.0 Damian Lane
7. $91.00 Sheer Madness 56.0 Brian Higgins
8. $3.20 Bravo Tango 56.0 Ben Melham
9. $26.00 Poseidon's Pool 56.0 Ben Allen
10. $91.00 No Dreams All Hope 56.0 Michael Dee

Margins: 0.4 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:08.93

Bet now on the Manfred Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Manfred Stakes odds.

Manfred Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Cliff's Edge Overshare Muraaqeb 1:08.9
2017 Legless Veuve Into Orbit Hey Doc 1:10.8
2016 Puritan Golden Spin Ready For Victory 1:10.2
2015 Java Petrology Affirmation 1:18.2
2014 Bull Point Worth A Ransom The Quarterback 1:09.7
2013 Royal Haunt Force Command Hosting 1:09.5
2012 Mosheen That's The One Highly Recommended 1:10.7
2011 Enjin Number Nine Bullbars Star Witness 1.16.6