April: Sydney Cup
May: Australasian Oaks : Sangster Stakes : SA Derby : Doomben 10,000

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Doomben 10000

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The Doomben 10000 is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held each May at Doomben racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1350 metres and worth $750,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Doomben 10000 was won by Music Magnate from Azkadellia with Charlie Boy third.

Held on the final and major race day of the Doomben racing carnival in Brisbane, Doomben 10,000 day features a number of quality group races including the Gr3 Grand Prix Stakes for three-year-olds.

2017 Doomben 10000 info
Date: Saturday 13th May 2017
Track: Doomben racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1350 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $750,000
2016 Winner: Music Magnate

The Doomben 10000 is the premier sprint event of the winter carnival at Doomben and always attracts a good class field. The race is typically taken out by a more than handy galloper and the weight-for-age conditions of the race lends itself to the better performed horses entered.

The Gr1 BTC Cup held two weeks earlier at the same track has been a good guide in recent years, with Apache Cat (2008) taking out the BTC Cup & Doomben 10000 double in the same year, and in 2009 he finished second in the BTC Cup before scoring in this event for the second year in a row. Takeover Target (2007) finished second in the BTC Cup before winning this race at his next start.

The honour roll for this event sees many of Australia's best sprinters name etched upon it, with horses such as Apache Cat (2008-09), Takeover Target (2007), Bel Esprit (2003), Falvelon (2001-02) and Chief De Beers twice in 1995 & 1998, being winners of this race.

Classy gallopers Sea Siren (2012) and Buffering (2nd in 2012) returned the following year to fill second and third place behind Epaulette (2013).

Many horses from this race will go on and tackle the major sprint race of the Brisbane winter carnival, the Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap, held two weeks later at Eagle Farm, and the Ciaron Maher trained Srikandi (6th in 2015) won the Stradbroke after running sixth in this race. In recent years Black Piranha (2nd in 2009) claimed the Stradbroke after finishing runner-up in the Doomben 10,000, while Beaded (2nd in 2011) & Buffering (2nd in 2012) managed to run second in the Stradbroke as well.

Talented mare Melito (3rd in 2010) ran placings in both the BTC Cup & Doomben 10000 and then went on to run second in the Stradbroke Handicap at her next start, before winning the premier mares race of the winter carnival, the Gr1 Winter Stakes, on the last day of the winter carnival at Eagle Farm.

Music Magnate (2016) finished runner-up in the listed Luskin Star Stakes over 1300m at Scone in country New South Wales before making his way to Brisbane to win this event and recent Doomben 10,000 winners include Boban (2015) and Spirit Of Boom (2014).

2016 Doomben 10,000 result
1. $9.50 Music Magnate 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $3.80 Azkadellia 57.0 Mark Zahra
3. $18.00 Charlie Boy 59.0 Damian Browne

then followed
4. $6.00 Delectation 59.0 James McDonald
5. $7.00 Dothraki 59.0 Blake Shinn
6. $3.40 Fell Swoop 59.0 Zac Purton
7. $9.00 Hooked 59.0 Jim Byrne
8. $21.00 Scarlet Billows 57.0 Brad Rawiller
9. $19.00 Two Blue 57.0 Paul King

Margins: 0.8L, 0.1L
Time: 1:17.77

Other group races held on Doomben 10,000 day include the Gr2 Sires Produce Stakes, Gr3 Lady Of The Turf Stakes and Gr3 Premiers Cup.

Bet now on the Doomben 10000
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
Doomben 10000 recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Music Magnate Azkadellia Charlie Boy 1:17.7
2015 Boban Charlie Boy Generalife 1:19.1
2014 Spirit Of Boom Temple Of Boom Buffering 1:17.9
2013 Epaulette Sea Siren Buffering 1:18.8
2012 Sea Siren Buffering Temple Of Boom 1:19.0
2011 Beaded Love Conquers All Black Piranha 1:19.6
2010 Hot Danish Whobegotyou Melito 1:19.1
2009 Apache Cat Black Piranha All Silent 1:22.4
2008 Apache Cat Murtajil Turffontein 1:17.9
2007 Takeover Target Gold Edition Mitanni 1:18.5
2006 Undue Impaler Street Smart 1:18.0
2005 Red Oog Our Egyptian Raine Takeover Target 1:18.6
2004 Super Elegant Our Egyptian Raine Scenic Peak 1:17.7
2003 Bel Esprit Private Steer Spinning Hill 1:18.3
2002 Falvelon Show A Heart Lord Essex 1:18.8
2001 Falvelon Spinning Hill Mr Innocent 1:17.2
2000 Mr Innocent Easy Rocking Falvelon 1:18.8
1999 Lauries Lottery Adam Corporate James 1:19.0
1998 Chief De Beers Staging General Nediym 1:19.8
1997 Accomplice Blazing Steel Monopolize 1:18.5
1996 Suntain Encores Quick Return 1:21.0
1995 Chief De Beers All Our Mob Cohort 1:17.8
1994 Flitter All Our Mob Bint Marscay 1:19.6
1993 Unequalled Bucks Pride Megs Ego 1:18.5
1992 Barrosa Boy Rough Habit Megs Ego 1:21.3
1991 Prince Trialia Barrosa Boy Tinys Finito 1:20.6
1990 Prince Trialia Planet Ruler Boasting 1:19.9
1989 Potrero Robian Steel Count Henri 1:22.2
1988 Campaign King Rancho Ruler Rendoo 1:20.3

Best Australian Bookmaker for Doomben 10000 free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.