September: AJ Moir Stakes
October: Epsom Handicap : The Metropolitan : Flight Stakes : Turnbull Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit just $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $50 get $200

Free Punters Club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a Group 1 open handicap race held each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in September. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $400,000 in prizemoney. The 2015 Sir Rupert Clark Stakes was won by Stratum Star from Disposition with Under The Louvre third.

Held alongside the Gr1 Underwood Stakes for middle distance gallopers, the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes provides a good platform for the better mile races ahead during the spring.

2016 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes info
Date: Saturday 24th September 2016
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $400,000
2015 Winner: Stratum Star

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a good quality sprint race that generally assembles a more than handy field where the winner will quite often be a very good type. Some top liners have managed to etch their name on the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes honour role and classy types such as Exceed & Excel (2003), Testa Rossa (1999-2000), Encosta De Lago (1996), Our Maizcay (1995) and Poetic King (1994) have all won this race.

Winners and placegetters in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes are likely to go on and tackle open handicap or weight-for-age sprint races from 1200m to 1600m during the carnival and this event has been a great guide in recent years to the Gr1 Toorak Handicap over 1600 metres at the same track in early October.

Stratum Star (2015) finished third in the Gr1 Memsie Stakes over 1400m at Caulfield before finishing strongly to win this race by the narrowest of margins and recent Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winners include Trust In A Gust (2014) and Rebel Dane (2013).

spring racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide
The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes has proven to be a more then reliable guide to the major mile races of the spring in recent times with Lucky Hussler (6th in 2015) and Solzhenitsyn (3rd in 2012) winning the Toorak Handicap at Caulfield after running well in this race beforehand.

Disposition (2nd in 2015) won the Gr3 Chatham Stakes on Derby day at Flemington during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival after running second here.

Trust In A Gust (2014) also claimed the Toorak Handicap after winning this event and Sweet Idea (4th in 2014) took out the Gr2 Tristarc Stakes at Caulfield at her next start.

Toorak Toff (2011) ran third in the Chatham Stakes at Flemington and No Evidence Needed (2nd in 2010) finished runner-up in the Gr2 Rose Of Kingston Stakes at Flemington on Turnbull Stakes Day.

Turffontein (2009) came second in both the Gr2 Caulfield Sprint at Caulfield and Gr1 Salinger Stakes at Flemington later in the carnival, while All American (6th in 2009) managed to win the Gr1 Emirates Stakes on the final day of the four-day Flemington carnival.

2015 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes result
1. $9.00 Stratum Star 54.5 Craig Williams
2. $4.00 Disposition 54.0 Damien Oliver
3. $5.50 Under The Louvre 55.5 Mark Zahra

then followed
4. $21.00 Strawberry Boy 56.0 Jim Cassidy
5. $16.00 Charmed Harmony 54.5 Ben Melham
6. $14.00 Lucky Hussler 58.0 Glen Boss
7. $19.00 Fast 'n' Rocking 54.0 Michael Walker
8. $31.00 Abidewithme 52.0 Patrick Moloney
9. $61.00 Leebaz 56.0 James Winks
10. $16.00 Gregers 53.0 Damian Lane
11. $41.00 Amorino 56.0 Chris Parnham
12. $51.00 Hopfgarten 54.0 Glen Colless
13. $18.00 Cosmic Endeavour 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
14. $61.00 Bull Point 52.0 Michael Dee
15. $12.00 Rich Enuff 55.5 James McDonald
16. $15.00 Amicus 54.5 Craig Newitt
17. $151.00 We're Gonna Rock 52.0 Fabian Alesci
18. $31.00 Petrology 52.0 Jye McNeil

Margins: 0.1L, 0.1L
Time: 1:22.09

Bet now on the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2015 Stratum Star Disposition Under The Louvre 1:22.0
2014 Trust In A Gust Dissident Bull Point 1:23.0
2013 Rebel Dane Fontelina Solzhenitsyn 1:23.8
2012 Moment Of Change We're Gonna Rock Solzhenitsyn 1:22.1
2011 Toorak Toff Pinnacles Master Of Design 1:21.9
2010 Response No Evidence Needed Woorim 1:22.2
2009 Turffontein Stickpin Raffaello 1:25.3
2008 Orange County Bon Hoffa Turffontein 1:24.3
2007 Bon Hoffa Niconero Wonderful World 1:22.5
2006 Rewaaya Miss Andretti Undue 1.23.4
2005 Barely A Moment Super Kid Sky Cuddle 1.25.7
2004 Regal Roller Our Egyptian Raine Alinghi 1.24.2
2003 Exceed & Excel Reactive Titanic Jack 1.21.2
2002 Pernod Bel Esprit Royal Code 1.22.6
2001 Mr Murphy Fubu Umrum 1.23.5
2000 Testa Rossa Camarena Porto Roca 1.21.9
1999 Testa Rossa Nina Haraka Redoutes Choice 1.22.1
1998 Lord Luskin Theatre Haltemann 1.23.3
1997 Cut Up Rough Tarnpir Lane Delsole 1.22.9
1996 Encosta De Lago Scenic Royale Lochrae 1.24.2
1995 Our Maizcay Cut Up Rough You Remember 1.22.3
1994 Poetic King Lets Cut Loose Subastral 1.23.2
1993 Black Rouge Lets Hurry Primacy 1.23.3
1992 Mannerism Black Rouge Vows 1.26.2
1991 St Jude Our Dawn Star Cole Diesel 1.27.4
1990 Submariner Plush Embassy Crimson Medal 1.23.6
1989 Potrero Glenview Dark Beau 1.23.6
1988 Rancho Ruler My Artic Wolf Our Westminster 1.24.0
1987 Western Pago Cold Hearted Isomer 1:23.8
1986 Canny Lass Taj Quillo Luthers Luck 1:24.2
1985 Trichelle Lockleys Tradition King Phoenix 1:23.4
1984 King Phoenix Nouvelle Star Pride Of Kellina 1:25.8
1983 Rangers Son Torbek Showmeran 1:26.7
1982 Magari Pure Of Heart Getting Closer 1:23.0
1981 Soldier Of Fortune Manikato Zegna 1:23.0
1980 Torbek Countess Marizza Watney 1:22.8

Best Australian Bookmaker for Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2016 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.