July: Nil
August: Memsie Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

HDF McNeil Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
ladbrokes Ladbrokes 500 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The HDF McNeil Stakes is a Group 3 event for three-year-olds raced under set weight and penalty conditions at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne each August during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 HDF McNeil Stakes was won by Defcon from Highland Beat with Wazzeme third.

Taking place on Group 1 Memsie Stakes day, the HDF MCNeil stakes is held alongside the Gr3 The Heath 1100 and Gr3 Cockram Stakes.

2017 HDF McNeil Stakes info
Date: Saturday 26th August 2017
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2016 Winner: Defcon

The HDF McNeil Stakes is an above average three-year-old race for this early in the spring and the race itself generally attracts a wide variety of three-year-olds who may go on to the bigger sprint or distance races later in the spring against their own age.

A race such as the Gr3 Vain Stakes for three-year-old colts & geldings on PB Lawrence Stakes day at Caulfield provides the ideal lead up to this event and Gold Symphony (2015) was the galloper to win the Vain Stakes and HDF McNeil Stakes double.

This McNeil Stakes can often produce winners who go on to become outstanding racehorses with classy gallopers Starspangledbanner (2009), Scenic Blast (2007), Miss Finland (2006), Bel Esprit (2002), Theatre (1998), Gold Ace (1995) and Sequalo (1993) all having won this race over the years.

Most of the time HDF McNeil Stakes winner is just a more than handy galloper who will go on to be more than competitive in stronger or similar type events.

Defcon (2016) resumed from an autumn spell before finishing strongly to win this event in classy style and recent HDF McNeil Stakes winners include Gold Symphony (2015) and Chivalry (2014).

spring racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide
The HDF McNeil Stakes has proven to be an interesting form guide to future spring events over the past few years. Revoling Door (5th in 2016) and Wazzenme (3rd in 2016) went on to run second and third respetively in the Gr 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude at their next start.

Thermal Current (3rd in 2013) managed to win the Gr3 Red Anchor Stakes at Moonee Valley on WS Cox Plate day after running third here.

The 2012 edition of the HDF McNeil Stakes proved significant with Lady Of Harrods (2012) going on to win the Gr3 Thousand Guineas Prelude at Caulfield and Kabayan (2nd in 2012) claiming the Gr2 Stan Fox Stakes at Rosehill in Sydney. Shampexpress (3rd in 2012) finished third in the Gr1 Coolmore Stakes at Flemington on Derby Day before returning the following autumn to win the Gr1 Newmarket Handicap down the Flemington straight.

Satin Shoes (8th in 2011) ran third behind classy colt Sepoy in the Coolmore Stakes at Flemington and Sistine Angel (2010) ran second in the Thousand Guineas Prelude at Caulfield before taking out the Gr2 Edward Manifold Stakes at Flemington.

Both Yosei (4th in 2010) and Shamrocker (7th in 2010) went on to Group 1 success, with Yosei winning the Thousand Guineas at Caulfield later that spring, while the following autumn Shamrocker won the Australian Guineas at Flemington and the ATC Oaks at Randwick.

Starspangledbanner (2009) claimed the Gr1 Caulfield Guineas later in the spring, while Scenic Blast (2007) went on to have a great spring of that year with a second in the Danehill Stakes before a top third in the Coolmore Stud Stakes.

The HDF McNeil Stakes is certainly a race that can often unearth a classy three-year-old.

2016 HDF McNeil Stakes result
1. $7.50 Defcon 58.5 Dwayne Dunn
2. $4.80 Highland Beat 56.0 Damian Lane
3. $10.00 Wazzenme 56.0 Luke Nolen

then followed
4. $5.50 Seaburge 58.5 Mark Zahra
5. $11.00 Revolving Door 56.0 Nicholas Hall
6. $6.50 Hardham 56.0 Damien Oliver
7. $9.00 Blue Tycoon 56.0 Cory Parish
8. $26.00 China Dream 56.0 Craig Newitt
9. $12.00 Awake In Grinzing 56.0 Ben Melham
10. $51.00 Pyx Chamber 56.0 Michael Dee
11. $31.00 I'm Too Hot 56.0 Stephen Baster
12. $81.00 Kinetic Design 54.5 Luke Currie

Margins: 1.25 len, 0.10 len
Time: 1:11.40

Bet now on the HDF McNeil Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
HDF McNeil Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Defcon Highland Beat Wazzeme 1:11.4
2015 Gold Symphony Ready For Victory Demonstrate 1:10.5
2014 Chivalry Nordic Empire Awesome Rock 1:10.2
2013 Fast 'n' Rocking Prince Harada Thermal Current 1:10.8
2012 Lady Of Harrods Kabayan Shamexpress 1:10.2
2011 Golden Archer Cross Of Gold Vatican 1:09.0
2010 Sistine Angel Servant Intencion 1:13.4
2009 Starspangledbanner Tollesprit Eclair Fastpass 1:10.2
2008 Sugar Babe Whogotbeyou Cardinal Virtue 1:10.4
2007 Scenic Blast Pins On Parade Marching 1:10.6
2006 Miss Finland Haradasun Due Sasco 1:10.6
2005 Danerich Line Account Izanami 1:06.7
2004 Tahni Girl Classiconi Oratorio 1:04.1
2003 Cahula Cross Current Abdullah 1:05.4
2002 Bel Esprit Yell Before Too Long 1:01.9
2001 Tully Dane Raja Lane King of Prussia 1:05.6
2000 Rapid Man Little Dozer Homewrecker 1:06.1
1999 Honour Thy Name Fappianos Son Miss Pennymoney 1:06.1
1998 Theatre Jumalique Major Fun 1:03.9
1997 La Baraka Towkay Guineas 1:04.1
1996 Valourina Investigation Checmour 1:03.9
1995 Gold Ace Sykes Street Talk 1:03.6
1994 Danzero Linbird Hurricane Sky 1:04.6
1993 Sequalo Lady Jakeo King Kora 1:05.2
1992 Snippet's Girl Simonstad Forever Intrigue 1:07.1
1991 Tierce Naturalism Business Beat 1:05.6
1990 Manitor The Curragh Clubman 1:06.6
1989 Goold Old Ted Street Ruffian Parotime 1:06.9

Best Australian Bookmaker for HDF McNeil Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.