July: Nil
August: Memsie Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Golden Rose

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
ladbrokes Ladbrokes 500 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The Golden Rose is a Group 1 set weights event for three-year-olds held each year in September at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney during the Sydney spring racing carnival in New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and offers $1,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Golden Rose was won by Astern from Omei Sword with Impending third.

iIn 2007 the Golden Rose was elevated to Group 2 status before being upgraded again to a Group 1 event in 2009, making it the first Group 1 race of the new racing season in Sydney each year. It is held on the same day as the Gr2 Theo Marks Stakes & Gr3 Kingston Town Stakes.

2017 Golden Rose info
Date: Saturday 23rd September 2017
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2016 Winner: Astern

The Golden Rose is the richest race of the the Sydney spring racing carnival offering $1,000,000 in prizemoney for three-year-old entrants. Being the only million dollar race of the spring in New South Wales, the race is fast becoming the spring event to showcase up and coming three-year-olds who may have their eye on the upcoming feature races in both Sydney and Melbourne.

The best guide to this race has been the Gr3 Run to the Rose, held the previous month at the same track, having provided a number of Golden Rose winners and placegetters in recent years.

In recent times Astern (2016), Exosphere (2015), Hallowed Crown (2014), Denman (2009), and Paratroopers (2005) have all won the Run To The Rose & Golden Rose double, while Epaulette (3rd in 2006) won the Run to the Rose before finishing 3rd in this race. The talented Dissident (2nd in 2013) finished runner up in both races and number of gallopers have won or placed in both races and vice versa.

Races like the Gr3 Up and Coming Stakes for 3yo colts & geldings and Silver Shadow Stakes for three-year-old fillies held earlier in the carnival are also ideal lead up races to the Golden Rose.

Manawanui (2011) and Court Command (2006) managed to take out the Up And Coming Stakes & Golden Rose double, while Scissor Kick (2nd in 2014) won the Up And Coming Stakes before running second in the Golden Rose. Duporth (2008) ran third in the Up and Coming Stakes before winning this race and it pays to cast a keen eye over recent three-year-old set weight events if history is any guide.

Some 3yo gallopers contesting this race might also go on to a race like the Gr3 Newcastle Spring Stakes the following month and Ilovethiscity (3rd in 2009) went on to score a strong win in the Spring Stakes after running third in this event.

Classy galloper Zoustar (2013) took out the Gr2 Roman Consul Stakes at Randwick at his next start before heading to the Melbourne spring racing carnival to claim the Gr1 Coolmore Stud Stakes at Flemington. Nechita (6th in 2012) also managed to win the Coolmore Stud Stakes later in the spring after running sixth in this event.

Epaulette (2012) headed to Melbourne to win Gr3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude at Caulfield before running third in the Gr1 Caulfield Guineas at the same track and the Golden Rose has proven to be a pivotal race of the spring over the past few years.

Astern (2016) took out the Run To The Rose over 1200m at Rosehill before producing a big finish to win this event in stylish fashion and recent Golden Rose winners include Exosphere (2015) and Hallowed Crown (2014).

spring racing free bet

2016 Golden Rose result
1. $3.20 Astern 56.5 James McDonald
2. $4.40 Omei Sword 54.5 Joao Moreira
3. $11.00 Impending 56.5 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $9.00 Divine Prophet 56.5 Tommy Berry
5. $51.00 Good Standing 56.5 Glyn Schofield
6. $5.00 Yankee Rose 54.5 Zac Purton
7. $17.00 El Divino 56.5 Hugh Bowman
8. $21.00 Mediterranean 56.5 Blake Shinn
9. $101.00 Chamalu 56.5 James Orman
10. $18.00 Derryn 56.5 Tim Clark
11. $101.00 Oink 56.5 Paul Hammersley
12. $31.00 Thronum 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
13. $51.00 Nikitas 56.5 Tye Angland
14. $101.00 O’Reilly Cyrus 54.5 Jason Collett

Margins: 2.3 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:23.91

Bet now on the Golden Rose
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
Golden Rose recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Astern Omei Sword Impending 1:23.9
2015 Exosphere Speak Fondly Sebring Sun 1:21.8
2014 Hallowed Crown Scissor Kick Shooting To Win 1:24.0
2013 Zoustar Dissident Bull Point 1:22.5
2012 Epaulette Albrecht Ashokan 1:22.3
2011 Manawanui Smart Missile Helmet 1:23.3
2010 Toorak Toff Squamosa Ilovethiscity 1:21.9
2009 Denman Trusting Stryker 1:22.8
2008 Forensics El Cambio Kingda Ka 1:22.4
2008 Duporth Stripper Desuetude 1:23.8
2007 Race not run Ran March15 2008 1 Forensics
2006 Court Command Empires Choice Mentality 1:23.1
2005 Paratroopers Racing To Win Pendragon 1:23.5
2004 Doonan Al Maher Lieutenant 1:23.1
2003 In Top Swing Handsome Ransom Ashenti 1:24.0

Best Australian Bookmaker for Golden Rose free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.