July: Nil
August: Memsie Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Gloaming Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
ladbrokes Ladbrokes 500 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The Gloaming Stakes is a Group 3 set weights event for three-year-olds held each year at Rosehill racecourse during the Sydney spring racing carnival in September. The race is run over a distance of 1800 metres and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Gloaming Stakes was won by Veladero from Honeywine with Prized Icon third.

Held on the same day as the Gr2 Stan Fox Stakes & Gr2 Shannon Stakes, the Gloaming Stakes provides an able support act to the main feature races on the card.

2017 Gloaming Stakes info
Date: Saturday 23rd September 2017
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000
2016 Winner: Veladero

The Gloaming Stakes is a good race for up and coming three-year-old staying types and generally attracts those gallopers heading on to the Gr1 Spring Champion Stakes over 2000m on the final day of the Randwick carnival. Both Complacent (2013) and It's A Dundeel (2012) have taken out the the Gloaming Stakes & Spring Champion Stakes double in the past two years..

In recent times the Gloaming Stakes has proven a good guide to some of the better 3yo staying races ahead in both Sydney and Melbourne during the spring. Retrieve (2010) and Pendragon (2005) both managed to win the Gr2 Norman Robinson Stakes over 2000m at Caulfield on Caulfield Cup day after winning this race, while Retrieve and Praecido (3rd in 2010) both placed in the Gr1 Victoria Derby over 2500m at Flemington later in the spring.

Dual Gr1 WS Cox Plate winner So You Think (2009) won this race as a 3yo and this event is usually taken out by a more than handy type. Classt\y types to win this race include Predatory Pricer (2008), Arena (1998), Tie the Knot (1997) and Brave Warrior (1994).

Gathering (2nd in 2009) and All Black Gold (2006) ran second in the Spring Champion Stakes while Tuesday Joy (2nd in 2006) went to Flemington in the Melbourne spring to win the Gr2 Wakeful Stakes before running a top second in the Gr1 Crown Oaks.

The 2010 Gloaming Stakes placegetters all went on to fill the placings again in the Spring Champion Stakes but Erewhon (2nd in 2010) managed to turn the tables on Retrieve who finished runner-up, while Praecido dead-heated with Shootoff (8th in 2010) for third.

Veladero (2016) won a 3YO BM67 race over 1600m at Warwick Farm before stepping up to group level to win this race in fine style and recent Gloaming Stakes winners have been Vanbrugh (2015) and Sweynesse (2014).

spring racing free bet

2016 Gloaming Stakes result
1. $14.00 Veladero 56.5 Rory Hutchings
2. $14.00 Honeywine 56.5 James McDonald
3. $3.80 Prized Icon 56.5 Blake Shinn

then followed
4. $26.00 Retaliation 56.5 Brenton Avdulla
5. $19.00 Tumultuous 56.5 Tye Angland
6. $3.40 Swear 56.5 Christian Reith
7. $3.80 High Mist 56.5 Glyn Schofield
8. $81.00 Lasqueti Spirit 54.5 Ms Winona Costin
9. $19.00 Coonawarra 56.5 Adam Hyeronimus
10. $20.00 Oculist 56.5 Joshua Parr

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:50.24 

Bet now on the Gloaming Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
Gloaming Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Veladero Honeywine Prized Icon 1:50.2
2015 Vanbrugh Tatoosh Man Of Choice 1:49.6
2014 Sweynesse Diamond Valores Pounamu 1:49.4
2013 Complacent Savvy Nature Drago 1:49.1
2012 It's A Dundeel Honorius Lunar Rise 1:50.5
2011 Strike The Stars Doctor Doom King's Pact 1:49.0
2010 Retrieve Erewhon Praecido 1:48.2
2009 So You Think Gathering Heraklion 1:50.8
2008 Predatory Pricer Stalingrad Fight And Defend 1:51.9
2007 Race Not Run
2006 All Black Gold Tuesday Joy Sermon 1:49.2
2005 Pendragon Power Of Destiny Duelled 1:50.4
2004 Al Maher Savabeel Outback Prince 1:49.3
2003 Tsuimai Terracotta Bay Square One 1:49.6
2002 Maskerado Platinum Scissors Sportsman 1:57.0
2001 Courvoisier Excellerator Silk Veil 1:49.7
2000 Go Bint Dandify Danachenka 1:59.4
1999 Fairway Royal Integrity Cheverny 1:56.3
1998 Arena Franklin Rivers Lawyer 1:55.4
1997 Tie The Knot Irish Air Southbend 1:56.9
1996 Magic Of Sydney El Tasman Toledo 1:56.9
1995 Classy Fella Super Slew Recalcitrance 1:55.9
1994 Brave Warrior Danewin Breathtaker 2:00.5
1993 Constant Flight March Hare Arborea 1:57.4
1992 Air Seattle Telesto Takeshi 1:57.9
1991 Big Dreams Kinjite Gad'S Hill 1:58.3
1990 Lord Revenir St. Jude Power Base 1:55.3
1989 Stargazer Cool Credit Stylish Century 1:58.2
1988 Run Straight Run Swiftly Carson Brinney 1:55.0

Best Australian Bookmaker for Gloaming Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.