July: Nil
August: Memsie Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

ATC Australian Derby

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
ladbrokes Ladbrokes 500 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The ATC Australian Derby is a Group 1 race for three-year-olds that takes place each April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The classic race is run over a distance of 2400 metres under set weight conditions and is worth $2,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 ATC Australian Derby was won by Jon Snow from Harper's Choice with Hardham third.

The revamped Sydney autumn racing carnival sees the ATC Australian Derby moved to the first day of The Championships alongside the Gr1 Doncaster Handicap, Gr1 TJ Smith Stakes and ATC Sires Produce Stakes to make for a fantastic day of feature racing.

2017 ATC Australian Derby info
Date: Saturday 1st April 2017
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $2,000,000
2017 Winner: Jon Snow

The ATC Australian Derby is the premier distance race of the Sydney autumn for three-year-olds and is run over the classic derby distance of 2400m at set weights, which favours the classier types. The ATC Derby has become a prestigous event for three-year-olds on the Australian racing calendar and has a proud history of providing high quality winners who go on to become stars of the Australian turf.

The ATC Derby is a blue ribbon event and can enhance the winners value immensely, should they go on to become a stallion or a broodmare at the end of their career.

Gallopers of the ilk of Sky Heights (1999), Octagonal (1996), Mahogany (1994), Naturalism (1992), and Durbridge (1991) all won the ATC Derby before going on to win many of Australia's premier races year after year.

Any three-year-olds contesting the Derby will typically come via major 3yo races like the Gr1 Randwick Guineas at Randwick in April, or the Gr1 Rosehill Guineas and Gr2 Tulloch Stakes, held during the Rosehill carnival the previous couple of weeks. In recent times Criterion (2014) & It's A Dundeel (2013) have taken out the Rosehill Guineas & ATC Australian Derby double.

The ATC Derby has proven a handy guide to the Gr1 Caulfield Cup at Caulfield during the Melbourne spring, with Descarado (2nd in 2010) going on to win the race the following spring and Monaco Consul (3rd in 2010) running third in both races. Nom Du Jeu (2008) and Roman Emperor (2009) both finished runner-up in the Caulfield Cup after winning the ATC Derby beforehand.

Jon Snow (2017) took out the Gr2 Tulloch Stakes over 2000m at Rosehill before scoring an impressive victory in this event recent ATC Australian Derby winners include Tavago (2016) and Mongolian Khan (2015).

2017 ATC Australian Derby result
1. $7.50 Jon Snow 56.5 Damian Lane
2. $26.00 Harper's Choice 56.5 Jason Collett
3. $31.00 Hardham 56.5 Luke Nolen

then followed
4. $15.00 Ruthven 56.5 Mark Zahra
5. $2.60 Gingernuts 56.5 Opie Bosson
6. $5.00 Inference 56.5 Tommy Berry
7. $11.00 Prized Icon 56.5 Glyn Schofield
8. $101.00 Hollywood Mo 56.5 Zac Purton
9. $11.00 Anaheim 56.5 Hugh Bowman
10. $20.00 Impavido 56.5 Joao Moreira
11. $15.00 So Si Bon 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
12. $201.00 Shine Tak Star 56.5 Brenton Avdulla
13. $151.00 Righteous Mate 56.5 Tye Angland

Margins: 0.8 len, 0.1 len
Time: 2:38.18

Other group races on ATC Australian Derby Day include the Gr2 Chairmans Handicap, Gr3 PJ Bell Stakes, Gr3 Adrian Knox Stakes, Gr3 Kindergarten Stakes and Gr3 ATC Carbine Club Stakes.

Bet now on the AJC Australian Derby
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
AJC Australian Derby recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Jon Snow Harper's Choice Hardham 2:38.1
2016 Tavago Jameka Tally 2:33.6
2015 Mongolian Khan Hauraki Volkstok'n'barrell 2:37.1
2014 Criterion Tupac Amaru Hooked 2:38.4
2013 It's A Dundeel Philippi Kingdoms 2:33.4
2012 Ethiopia Polish Knight Laser Hawk 2:28.7
2011 Shamrocker Retrieve Anacheeva 2:29.4
2010 Shoot Out Descarado Monaco Consul 2:32.6
2009 Roman Emperor Harris Tweed Predatory Pricer 2:31.0
2008 Nom De Jeu Red Ruler Littorio 2:36.2
2007 Flumicino Ambitious General Tuesday Joy 2:36.4
2006 Headturner De Beers Testafiable 2:29.9
2005 Eremein Stella Grande Railings 2:35.8
2004 Starcraft Braeloch Delzao 2:34.8
2003 Clangalang Strasbourg Mummify 2:32.3
2002 Don Eduardo Carnegie Express Pentastic 2:32.7
2001 Universal Prince Sir Clive Danamite 2:30.8
2000 Fairway Shogun Lodge Now Voyager 2:34.0
1999 Sky Heights Arena Grand Archway 2:32.6
1998 Gold Guru Tie The Knot Northern Drake 2:38.4
1997 Ebony Grosve Danendri Intergaze 2:28.8
1996 Octagonal Saintly Filante 2:28.4
1995 Ivoy's Irish Danewin Blevic 2:33.8
1994 Mahogany Waikikamukau Fraternity 2:36.5
1993 Innocent King Kaaptive Edition Air Seattle 2:33.6
1992 Naturalism Veandercross Cavallieri 2:31.2
1991 Durbridge Cool Reception Mountain Rule 2:31.9
1990 Dr Grace Stylish Century Solar Circle 2:31.7
1989 Research Royal Pardon Power Of Destiny 2:34.0
1988 Beau Zam Brixton Town Hunter 2:34.6

Best Australian Bookmaker for AJC Australian Derby free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.